Currently Designing …

The production process for my final project has begun. Since this project has fabric limitation and we can only use wool, the production process begins with the pre shrinking of the fabric. To see if you really need to pre shrink your fabric, cut a swatch 4″ by 4″ and a piece of paper the same size. Using an iron or steamer, steam the swatch of fabric and then let it dry. Once it’s completely dry, see the difference if there is any, between the paper and the swatch. If there is a 1/4″ or more of a difference, it will be necessary to pre shrink. This can be achieved by laying the fabric over the rolling rack and going over it with a steamer or iron.

  Following the pre shrinking is the cutting process. With the semester coming to an end, and deadlines approaching it is very important to manage your time wisely. For one of my classes we only needed to attend at 10am for a quiz, however I decided to come earlier to school and begin cutting my pieces. I thought I was going to have to continue cutting after class but that wasn’t the case. Fusing all my pieces was the next step and I was quite happy things were going ahead of schedule. I continued the momentum by putting together the schell of my jacket.

 
Snapchat: xxkristinaahxx

This goes to show that if you schedule your time properly and focus on what you need to do, you will accomplish exactly what you want. It also helps when you’re listening to some music that allows you to enjoy what you’re doing. I’m somewhat of an old soul and I’m completely in love with the history of my background so in order to get in the zone I listen to  Mariza, Amalia Rodrigues or Fernando Farinha.

Stay tuned for the final product and always:

Plan. Prepare. Execute.

xo

Leave a Reply

