Currently Designing …

With the fall season almost upon us, I decided to make a straight skirt with multiple style lines and contrasting top stitching details. I had some extra dark tan coloured wool fabric that I hadn’t used yet. I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to use it seeing as tan is one of the staple colours for the fall season.

I started by drafting out a simple skirt with princess style panels. I added one panel going horizontally across the bottom of the skirt. Once I traced the skirt pieces out, added the appropriate seam allowance and cut them out, I began pinning them to the fabric.

wool-skirt-layout-pattern-cutting
Once that was all done, I cut the pieces out and began sewing. I attached the front side panels to the centre front skirt at the princess style line. I top stitched the seams and repeated this for the back. I then attached the front and back skirt pieces to each other at the side seams. Afterwards, I joined the skirt to the bottom horizontal panel and top stitched the seam. I added a zipper for the closure and attached the skirt lining to the waist facing. To finish off the waist, I sewed the facing to the skirt at the waist and down the zipper. I then tacked the facing lining seam to the skirt at the side seams. Leaving an escape hatch, I attached the hem of the lining to the hem of the skirt. Lastly, I filpped the skirt inside out and topstitched the escape hatch closed.

stitching-details-contrast-tan-skirt

The final product can be paired with a black body suit and black over the knee boots. You can top the look off with a khaki coloured vest and tanned leather bag. The skirt can also be paired with a black turtle neck, black tights and black suede pumps. To finish the look you can go with a tanned coat and chunky knit scarf.

 outfit-fall-winter-turtle-neck-suede-tan-skirt

Leave a Reply

